Discrete Math

 
 

Course Number: ECEN 2703

When: 11:00-11:55am MWF

Where: ECCR 105

Instructor: Jeremy Siek

Office Hours: Wednesdays 3:15-4:15pm, Thursdays 8-10pm, Fridays 4-5pm, in ECOT 349 (or near the whiteboard in the hall opposite the elevators, 3rd floor ECOT)

Textbook:

  1. Discrete Mathematics, Mathematical Reasoning and Proof with Puzzles, Patterns, and Games, by Douglas Ensley and J. Winston Crawley (available at the CU Bookstore, Amazon, etc.)

Grading: 10% exercises, 20% projects, 30% quizzes, 40% final exam.
There will be 4 projects and 6 quizzes. The lowest quiz grade is dropped.
Late exercises and projects receive a 25% reduction in grade.
Grades are posted here.

(Email your secret identification code to Jeremy with ECEN 2703 in the subject.)

Resources:

  1.   Google email group for the class. Important! Sign up! http://groups.google.com/group/discrete-math-spring-2011

Schedule:
Day Reading and Practice Problems (due) Homework (due) Study Problems (extra practice if you want it)
Monday, Jan. 10
Wednesday, Jan. 12 1.1, 1.2
Friday, Jan. 14 1.3 1.2.26 (aceg) 1.1.1, 1.1.3, 1.1.6, 1.2.6, 1.2.21, 1.2.25, 1.2.26
Monday, Jan. 17 MLK day, no class
Wednesday, Jan. 19 1.4 1.3.24 1.3.1, 1.3.3, 1.3.8, 1.3.11, 1.3.18, 1.3.23
Friday, Jan. 21 1.5, 1.6 1.4.14 1.4.1, 1.4.3, 1.4.9, 1.4.14, 1.4.20, 1.5.1, 1.5.6, 1.5.11, 1.5.14, 1.5.16, 1.5.25
Monday, Jan. 24 Quiz 1 (on Chapter 1, up to sec. 5) solutions
Wednesday, Jan. 26 2.1 1.6.8 1.6.3, 1.6.10
Friday, Jan. 28 2.2 2.1.4
Monday, Jan. 31 2.3 2.2.17 2.1.4, 2.1.10, 2.1.13, 2.2.3, 2.2.4, 2.2.7, 2.2.13, 2.2.17
Wednesday, Feb. 2 2.4 2.3.8 (bg) 2.3.3, 2.3.5, 2.3.8
Friday, Feb. 4 Quiz 2 (On Chapter 2 through section 4) solutions Project 1 PDF
Project 1, part 1 code
and test inputs, part 2 test inputs. Extra credit PDF
and test inputs.
2.4.4 (typo in book, this is the second 2.4.3), 2.4.8, 2.4.10
Monday, Feb. 7 2.5 2.4.14 2.5.3, 2.5.9, 2.5.13, 3.5.32(a), 3.5.36
Wednesday, Feb. 9 2.6 2.5.34 2.6.8, 2.6.12, 2.6.17
Friday, Feb. 11 2.7 2.6.23 2.7.5, 2.7.10(ace), 2.7.11, 2.7.13
Monday, Feb. 14 3.1 2.7.16 3.1.13, 3.1.16(c), 3.1.17(e), 3.1.32(ac); where applicable, use real proofs instead of Venn diagrams
Wednesday, Feb. 16 3.2 3.1.25 3.2.3, 3.2.7, 3.2.9, 3.2.23
Friday, Feb. 18 Quiz 3 (on Sections 2.5 through 3.2) solutions
Monday, Feb. 21 3.3, 3.4 3.2.20 3.3.2(ace), 3.3.11(ac), 3.3.12(ac), 3.3.13(a), 3.3.18, 3.3.21, 3.4.3(ab), 3.4.4(ac), 3.4.9, 3.4.11
Wednesday, Feb. 23 3.5 3.3.19, 3.4.8 3.5.4, 3.5.5, 3.5.8(ac)
Friday, Feb. 25 4.1,4.2 Project 2 PDF 4.1.10, 4.1.14, 4.1.16, 4.1.17, 4.1.19, 4.1.23, 4.2.6, 4.2.10, 4.2.24, 4.2.26(ac)
Monday, Feb. 28 4.3 4.1.20, 4.2.12 4.3.7, 4.3.11, 4.3.14, 4.3.16, 4.3.18, 4.3.24, 4.3.28, 4.3.29
Wednesday, March 2 4.4 4.3.22 4.4.9, 4.4.11, 4.4.15(ac), 4.4.16-23
Friday, March 4 Quiz 4 (on Sections 3.3 through 4.4) solutions
Monday, March 7 4.5 4.4.18 4.5.8,4.5.15,4.5.17,4.5.19,4.5.22
Wednesday, March 9 4.8 4.5.23 4.8.18(ad),4.8.20,4.8.25,4.8.26
Friday, March 11 5.1, 5.2 4.8.16 5.1.12(ace), 5.1.13(ace), 5.1.16, 5.1.18, 5.1.20, 5.2.16, 5.2.22, 5.2.39, 5.2.42
Monday, March 14 5.3 5.1.17,5.2.35 5.3.10, 5.3.15, 5.3.21, 5.3.25, 5.3.27
Wednesday, March 16 5.4, 5.5 5.3.26 5.4.9, 5.4.15(a), 5.4.25, 5.4.28, 5.4.31, 5.5.7, 5.5.12, 5.5.14
Friday, March 18 Quiz 5 (on Sections 4.5 through 5.5, but not 4.6 and 4.7) solutions
Spring Break
Monday, March 28 5.6 5.4.28
Wednesday, March 30 6.1 5.6.12
Friday, April 1 6.2 Project 3 PDF
kruskal.c
Small test input, Large test input
Monday, April 4 6.3, 6.4 6.2.21
Wednesday, April 6 7.1 6.3.12, 6.4.24
Friday, April 8 Quiz 6 (on 5.6 through 6.4) solutions
Monday, April 11 7.2 7.1.22
Wednesday, April 13 7.2.8
Friday, April 15 7.3 7.2.24
Monday, April 18 7.2.26
Wednesday, April 20 7.4 7.3.16
Friday, April 22 7.4.10, 7.4.11, 7.4.12
Monday, April 25 7.5 7.4.13, 7.4.14
Wednesday, April 27 7.6 7.5.16
Friday, April 29 7.7 Project 4 PDF
test input files
Extra Credit Project PDF
Wednesday, May 4 Final Exam, 7:30pm-10:00pm solutions

Spring 2011

If you can't solve a problem, then there's an easier problem you can solve: find it. - George Polya