ECEN 4610/4620 – Fall 2013 and Spring 2014

  Home  

  Projects  

  Policies  

  FAQ  

  Resources  

 

Instructor: David Meyer (with Ruth Dameron)

David.Meyer@colorado.edu

Ruth.Dameron@colorado.edu

   

Capstone General TAs

Justin Barth

   

Joshua Crowley

   

Michael Tanksalvala

   

Kristine Thompson

Justin.Barth@colorado.edu

   

Joshua.Crowley@colorado.edu

   

Michael.Tanksalvala@colorado.edu

   

Kristine.Thompson@colorado.edu

Capstone Mentor Graphics TA

Sebin.Gracy@Colorado.EDU


This course is a two-semester-long ECEN capstone design lab, where teams of 4-6 students propose, design, document, build, test, and demonstrate a working prototype of an electronic system. The project topic can be related to one or more ECEN areas, including Bioengineering, Communications and Signal Processing, Control Systems, Electromagnetics, Optoelectronics, Power Electronics, Solid State Materials and Devices. If possible, students interested in taking the lab should form teams before the year starts and discuss their project topic ideas with the lab instructors and other faculty in various ECEN areas. The result of each team's effort will be a reliably operating electronics system with publication quality technical documentation.

A typical project will consist of digital hardware interfacing with "peripherals" (such as sensors, RF and microwave electronics, optoelectronics, power amplifiers and converters, motors and other actuators), and software.

EEEN and ECEN majors must have successfully completed the required prerequisites of all ECEN core courses (specifically, ECEN 2270, 3360, 3810 and all of the prerequisites for those courses) along with at least a co-requisite of an advanced analog elective for the first semester of capstone (ECEN 4610). For the second semester of capstone (ECEN 4620), prerequisites are ECEN 4610 plus two advanced analog electives for ECEN majors and three advanced analog electives for EEEN majors. Any student not meeting the requirements will not be allowed to register for the courses. It is beneficial if students have also completed ECE electives, 4000-level ECE labs, and 4000-level ECE theory courses related to the selected project topic.

The digital hardware part of the project can be realized using one or a combination of the following options:

  • Processor/DSP development board
  • General-purpose microcontrollers and digital logic devices
  • Digital logic implemented in FPGA
  • PC with standard interface ports in conjunction with a target processor

The final project will be demonstrated to the world at large during the Capstone Lab Expo at the end of the second semester.