2000 AACC Awards 2000 AACC Awards

2000 AACC Awards recipients with AACC President and Past President and Awards Chair. Sitting left to right: F.G. Shinskey, W. H. Ray, R.D. Braatz, H.K. Khalil; standing left to right: M. Tomizuka, M. Arcak, J. M. Goncalves, B. Nouri, N. Kheir, C. Georgakis, D. Auslander.

During the Awards Banquet at the 2000 ACC, Professor David Auslander, Chair of the AACC Awards Committee for 1999-2001, presented the five AACC awards, and Professor Suhada Jayasuriya, the 2000 ACC Program Chair, presented the award for the Student Best Paper Competition.

The Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award was presented to W. Harmon Ray for a career dedicated to both the theoretical and to the practical development of dynamics and control of chemical reactors used for polymerizations.

The Donald P. Eckman Award was awarded to Richard D. Braatz for outstanding theoretical contributions to large scale systems and multivariable processes and its application in the chemical industry.

The John R. Ragazzini Education Award was presented to Hassan K. Khalil for writing an outstanding textbook in nonlinear systems and control, and for leadership through teaching, mentoring and research in this field.

The Control Engineering Practice Award was awarded to Francis G. Shinskey for international leadership in developing and disseminating practicable techniques which led to world-wide implementation of advanced process control.

The O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award was presented to Antonios Armaou and Panagiotis Christofides for their paper "Wave Suppression by Nonlinear Finite-Dimensional Control" and to Bassam Bamieh and Mohammed Dahleh for their paper "Disturbance Energy Amplification in Three Dimensional Channel Flows. Both papers were presented at the 1999 American Control Conference in San Diego, CA.

The Best Student Paper Award was awarded to Jorge M. Goncalves, who is a graduate student at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.