1997 AACC Award Nomination Information 1997 AACC Award Nomination Information
Due December 1, 1996

Nominations for the three AACC awards for 1997 are now being solicited. The awards consist of a certificate and an honorarium, and they will be presented at the 1997 American Control Conference in Albuquerque, NM. Nomination packages should be prepared in accordance with the AACC Award Nomination Form (which can be obtained from the AACC web site at http://www.ece.nwu.edu/~ahaddad/aacc/awards.html or from the AACC Secretariat, Abraham Haddad) and include the following: biographical information, a statement identifying and evaluating the accomplishments on which the nomination is based, a minimum of three and a maximum of five reference letters, a current list of publications and patents, and any additional supporting material that could have bearing on that award. The nomination package is due by December 1, 1996 and should be sent to Professor Abraham Haddad at the following address:

Abraham H. Haddad
Department of ECE
Northwestern University
2145 Sheridan Road
Evanston, IL 60208-3118
Tel: (847) 491-3641
FAX: (847) 491-4455

The awards are described as follows:

RICHARD E. BELLMAN CONTROL HERITAGE AWARD: For distinguished career contributions to the theory or applications of automatic control. The nominee is to have spent a significant part of his or her career in the United States. Posthumous nominations are not allowed.

DONALD P. ECKMAN AWARD: For outstanding accomplishments by a young engineer in the field of automatic control. Nominees must be younger than 35 years at the time of the award. The award is based on contributions made while the nominee was a resident of the United States.

EDUCATION AWARD: For outstanding contributions to automatic control education in any form. The awardee normally is a teacher, but there is no formal requirement that nominees be members of a university faculty.

The Chairman of the AACC Awards Committee for 1996-97 is Dr. Jose B. Cruz, Jr., Dean of Engineering, The Ohio State University.

This is the time this page has been accessed since September 20, 1996.