1997 AACC Awards 1997 AACC Awards

At the 1997 American Control Conference Awards Luncheon, Professor Jose Cruz, Chair of the AACC Awards Committee for 1995-97, presented three AACC awards, and Professor Stephen Yurkovich, the 1997 Program Chair, presented the award for the Student Best Paper Competition.

The Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award was given to Rudolf E. Kalman for fundamental contributions to control and system theory, including introducing the self-tuning regulator in adaptive control, a new approach to filtering (now known as Kalman Filtering), and combining filtering and control ideas to formulate Linear Quadratic Gaussian theory. Dr. Kalman is currently chair for Mathematical System Theory at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich.

The Donald P. Eckman Award was presented to Richard M. Murray, an Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology, for contributions to the theory of nonlinear dynamics and control of mechanical and fluid systems, with applications to nonholonomic systems, robotic manipulation and locomotion, aerospace vehicles, and compressor systems.

The AACC Education Award was given to William R. Perkins, a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and a Research Professor in the Coordinated Science Laboratory at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Professor Perkins was cited for his contributions to automatic control education, to transferring the wonder and excitement of discovery as a superior instructor, and to being a dedicated advisor and model educational leader.

The Best Student Paper Award, selected on the basis of the written paper and the presentation, was awarded to Zhong-Hua Li of the University of Maryland.

This is the time this page has been accessed since September 2, 1997.