Regan A. Zane

Homesmall logo

Regan A. Zane, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

ECEE 1B55, UCB 425, Engineering Drive

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Colorado at Boulder

Boulder, CO 80309-0425

Phone: (303) 735-1560, Fax: (303) 492-2758
e-mail: zane @
Office: ECOT 352, Directions to campus, Directions to office

Short Bio

Regan Zane received the Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Colorado, Boulder, in 1999. He then joined GE Global Research in Niskayuna, NY, where he developed custom integrated circuit controllers for power management in electronic ballasts and lighting systems. Since 2001 he has been an Assistant (2001-2007) and Associate (2008-present) Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where he has ongoing research programs in high efficiency, high power density dc-dc, dc-ac, and ac-dc power converters in emerging applications, energy-efficient lighting and building systems, adaptive and robust power management systems, digital control and mixed-signal IC design for power converters, and low power energy harvesting for wireless sensors. He teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in analog and mixed-signal integrated circuits, power electronics, and energy systems.
            Dr. Zane received the NSF Career Award in 2004 for his work in energy efficient lighting systems, the 2005 IEEE Microwave Best Paper Prize for his work on recycling microwave energy, the 2007 and 2009 IEEE Power Electronics Society Transactions Prize Letter Awards and the 2008 IEEE Power Electronics Society Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award for "outstanding achievement in the field of power electronics" before the age of 35. He also received the 2006 Inventor of the Year, 2006 Provost Faculty Achievement, the 2008 John and Mercedes Peebles Innovation in Teaching, and the 2011 Holland Teaching Awards from the University of Colorado. He currently serves as Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, Letters, and as the Publicity Chair for the IEEE Power Electronics Society.

© R. Zane