RF Power and Analog Laboratory

The RFPAL investigates challenges in RF and microwave active circuit design, including making RF front-ends and related components more energy efficient through RF and analog circuit design.


July 2021: Prof. Barton has been awarded tenure and promoted to Associate Professor. Thanks to all current and past RFPAL members for their support!

Nov. 2020: Will Sear has been awarded the Russell E. Hayes Fellowship for outstanding research and scholarship in the area of RF/electromagnetic semiconductor-device and circuits. Thanks to James and Elaine Crescenzi for generously endowing this fellowship.

Oct. 2020: Our team placed second in the IEEE MTT High-Efficiency Power Amplifier Design Competition! Big thanks to MTT-12 and Keysight for running this as a virtual competition this year.

Sept. 2020: Congratulations to Daniel Martin on an excellent PhD defense! Daniel will be graduating officially in December 2020.

Aug. 2020: Caitlyn Cooke has completed her PhD, congratulations Caitlyn!

May 2020: Congratulations to our latest two MS graduates: Dan Fishler and Eric Kwiatkowski!

Dec. 2019: Congratulations to Saraunsh Bayaskar on graduating with his MS degree!

June 2019: Congratulations to Will, Devon, and Ryan for placing 2nd in the High Efficiency Power Amplifier Student Design Competition at the 2019 International Microwave Symposium!

May 2019: Congratulations to Dr. Prathamesh Pednekar on being the first RFPAL Ph.D. graduate AND on winning the best thesis award!

Jan. 2019: Prof. Taylor Barton receives the NSF CAREER award!

Dec. 2018: Congratulations to Will Sear on completing his MS degree!

Aug. 2018: Our group has received a DURIP award to develop a reconfigurable dynamic measurement system for adaptive RF / mm-wave circuits!

Oct. 2017: Prof. Taylor Barton receives the AFOSR Young Investigator Research Program award!

June 2017: RFPL student Prathamesh Pednekar nominated for student paper finalist at IMS 2017!

Aug. 2016: Congratulations to RFPL students Usama Awais and Prathamesh Pednekar on their successful theses defenses!

Jan. 2016: RFPL graduate student Prathamesh Pednekar received the First Place award in the student paper competition at the IEEE Topical Meeting on Power Amplifiers for Wireless and Radio Applications (PAWR).